The Department of Chemistry was established as an independent entity in February 2000. Prior to this time – since 1992 – a Chemistry Sector existed within the Department of Natural Sciences, along with a Physics Sector. The first undergraduate students of the Chemistry Sector were accepted in September 1994, and graduated with a B.Sc. in Chemistry in June 1998. The postgraduate program of Chemistry was formally established in September 1998.

The Department of Chemistry currently houses sixteen Faculty members. Τhe Department regularly uses the assistance of Visiting Professors in the Undergraduate Course Program. The Departmental administrative and technical staff consists of four Chemistry Technicians, one Computer Technician, one Accounting Officer and two secretaries.