Cyprus is third in size island in the Mediterranean. The location of the island makes its capital Nicosia (Lefkosia) the farthest southeast of all EU member states' capitals.
Nicosia has been inhabited since 4,500 years and has been the capital of Cyprus since the 10th century. The old city is surrounded by the Venetian Walls constructed in mid 16th century. The new city is spread around the Walls in a mixture of small buildings of the first half of the last century as well as big buildings reflecting modern trends in architecture. There are quite a few museums covering a wide range of scopes from where the visitor can easily follow the history of Nicosia.
Nicosia is the last divided capital in Europe, due to the lasting Turkish occupation (since 1974) of part of the island; however, the island as a whole entered the European Union on the 1st May 2004.
All activities (workshop & General Assembly and related) will be hosted in the campus of the University of Cyprus (Anastasios G. Leventis House). How to get here - See bus No150 line map [pdf].