General Information

Presentation of our Faculty

The Faculty of Pure and Applied Sciences was founded in 1989. The Faculty is currently located on the new University Campus and consists of the following five departments:

  • Department of Biological Sciences
  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of Computer Science
  • Department of Mathematics and Statistics
  • Department of Physics

The above mentioned departments currently offer six undergraduate degree programmes and fourteen postgraduate degree programmes leading to Master's and PhD degrees, that are fully compatible with European standards and produce scientists who are well trained and able to meet the current and future challenges in science. Our programmes are based on the new European Credit Transfer System (ECTS).

An important goal of the Faculty is to establish itself in the International Scientific Community in the relative research fields. The Faculty's Departments attach major importance to research, since it is through research that one of the faculty's foremost missions is accomplished, while, on the other hand, research enables science to contribute to local industry and, more generally, to Cypriot society at large (in sectors such as Economy, Education and Training, Health etc.). Furthermore our Departments recognize the significance of basic, as well as of applied research which can be useful to local industry.

The Faculty has awarded up to now five Honorary Doctorates