The University Development Committee (used to known as 'National Support Committee') is an honorary body, with a specific mandate period, whose duration is determined by the formation of.
The Committee is composed by influential public figures of the country, which may be individuals, representatives of organizations, or businessmen, which are proposed by the University Council, based on their contribution to the practical work of the University and their commitment to further support it.
The Committee has an advisory role, and it functions as a "think-tank" which its mission is to ensure the highest possible funding for the University of Cyprus.
The first University Development Committee was formed in 2003, having as honorary president the former President of Cyprus Mr. George Vassiliou. The mandate of the committee ended in 2010 with the end of the campaign "University of Cyprus 2010: Discrimination in Europe"