The Graduate School was formally established in January 2012 when the Department's and postgraduate student representatives were appointed to the School Board, and the Dean and the Vice Dean of the Graduate School were elected. The main objectives of the Graduate School are the development and the promotion of postgraduate studies at the University Cyprus.
The Graduate School does not have its own academic staff as  the other Faculties of the University. The Graduate School provides support for the evaluation, development and promotion of graduate education. Although, the postgraduate programmes are offered by the academic departments of the University, the Graduate School coordinates the whole procedure without intervening in the academic work of the Departments.




One of the objectives of the Graduate School is to ensure the quality of assurance and measures for the evaluation of the postgraduate programmes and of the degrees awarded by the University of Cyprus. The Graduate School also aims in the upgrade and strengthen of the postgraduate programmes of study and to improve the quality support offered to the students and to the academic departments of
the University.

Among the objectives of the School are also the encouragement of participation in European programmes of study, the cooperation with other universities, and the attracting of students from Cyprus, Europe and other countries.

The University also aspires in the strengthening of the relations of the academic community with the society, to enhance productivity in research and to further encourage the development of postgraduate studies.

As it is known a large number of postgraduate students are employed in the research programmes of the University of Cyprus and the establishment of the Graduate School is expected to develop even more the research environment that will attract more academics and researchers and will increase the income from competitive research programmes.



Structure of the Graduate School


The Graduate School is administered by the Dean, the Vice Dean and the School Board.

The School Board consists of:

• The Dean of the Graduate School (Chairman)
• The Vice Dean of the Graduate School
• A member of the Postgraduates Committee from each academic department
• Representatives of postgraduate students