The external quality assurance system applies the European Standards Guidelines (ESG 2015) and the national legislation of the Quality Assurance of Higher Education.

The external quality assurance system refers to three different types of external evaluations:

1. Institutional
2. Departmental
3. Programmes of Study

The Cyprus Agency of Quality Assurance (CYQAA) overviews the procedures for external evaluations, the periodicity of which is five years.

Accreditation is awarded by the CYQAA when Institutions or Departments or/either Programs of Study are compliant with ESG 2015 and national legislation.